“A New Day” by Robby Seay Band

This one’s for my mama, Jan, or Granny Janny, as we’ve called her in recent years.

Four years ago, we found out she had colon cancer. We were crushed. It was 10 months after I had moved three hours away from her. We made many trips back and forth to be with her and my dad as she underwent major surgery and then, chemotherapy. It is so terribly difficult to watch anyone battle through a disease so demanding, but there aren’t words to describe what it’s like to watch it happen to your mother.  There is so much I could write about those times, so many important things we learned and ironically, so many hilarious things she said (mostly while recovering in the hospital). There are so many ways we all learned to love each other better and more deeply. But those are details for another post…

She was incredibly brave and all heart, she fought with a faith that never complained (at least not to me), and now, she is cancer-free and enjoying life. She writes poetry and loves her grandsons and listens to music everyday. We are extremely grateful to God for the excellent care she received from her doctors and our family, especially my dad. We are extremely grateful to God for how he so carefully orchestrated the events and, most importantly, the people surrounding her healing.

This is a song she introduced me to during that time, and it made me feel like we were together even though we weren’t and that things were going to be just fine, even though they weren’t.

Mom, you’re my hero. I’m so proud of you and so very happy it’s four years later! Je’taime.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m gonna sing this song to let you know that you’re not alone
And if you’re like me, you need hope, coffee and melody
So sit back down and let the world keep spinning ’round
For yesterday’s gone and today is waiting on you to show your face

And it might not be the prettiest thing that you’ll ever see
But it’s a new day, ah baby, it’s a new day
And it might not look like a beautiful sunrise
But it’s a new day, ah baby, it’s a new day

I’m a pilgrim soul, I’ve traveled far and come back home
And this land is hard and cold for those who long to love
And I know it might seem that the world is crumbling
But it’s me and you dancing in the kitchen at 2 A.M. and we’re still alive

And it might not be the prettiest thing that you’ll ever see
But it’s a new day, ah baby, it’s a new day
And it might not look like a beautiful sunrise
But it’s a new day, ah baby, it’s a new day

It’s the calm of the storm that comes blowing in
It’s the springtime saying I’m back again
The clouds that roll by crossing moonlight
Me and you, love, everything’s alright

Standing in the rain with nowhere to go
Laughing and we’re spinning and I hope that you
Remember this day for the rest of your life
Me and you, love, everything’s gonna be alright

And it just might be the prettiest thing that you’ll ever see
Well it’s a new day, ah baby, it’s a new day
If you look outside to see a beautiful sunrise
Well it’s a new day, ah new day, it’s a new day

And it just might be the prettiest thing that you’ll ever see
Well it’s a new day, ah baby, it’s a new day
If you look outside to see a beautiful sunrise
Oh it’s a new day, it’s a new day, it’s a new day

It’s the calm of the storm that comes blowing in
It’s the springtime saying I’m back again
The clouds that roll by crossing moonlight
Me and you, love, everything’s alright

Standing in the rain with nowhere to go
Laughing and we’re spinning and I hope that you
Remember this day for the rest of your life
Me and you, love, everything’s gonna be alright

I’m gonna sing this song to let you know that you’re not alone
And if you’re like me, you need hope, coffee and melody

 

1 Comment

  1. Tears and smiles…thank you, Erin. I can always count on you for both! Some memories are harder than others and can make life just that much sweeter. I love that this music and these songs can help me remember so well. And that I have so so much to be thankful for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

