“Come Clean” By Audrey Assad

I love days like today.

I’ll say that again.

I LOVE days like today!

Don’t misread; it wasn’t the most fantabulous day ever. It’s MONDAY. (Sorry, Monday, but you’re not very popular.)

Side note: It must be really hard to be Monday.

There were plenty of things that went wrong today, ways in which I was ‘victimized’, and things I’m sure I did or said to others that offended them. I still had to get up and do what I almost never want to anymore today. These things are not exclusive to Mondays, they’re just tougher to deal with because it’s Monday. Ya know?

But, on days like today, I DON’T CARE. That is why I LOVE days like today.

On days like today, I can let it roll right off my shoulder because today:

  • I think I may have gotten 7 hours of sleep. WHAT?!
  • I got extra baby boy snuggles this morning.
  • I felt pretty. Not sure why, I just did.
  • I drank my whole tall decaf americano with steamed coconut milk. And it was amazing! *I sang that last word 😉
  • A dear friend randomly handed me a free copy of Glennon Doyle Melton’s “Carry On, Warrior.” AND I actually got to read some of it. AND, it’s amazing! *sang that one, too.
  • I got extra baby boy snuggles this evening.

I could go on, and maybe I should, but you get the point.

This could be me everyday. I could love days like these because they seem to be so much easier, but these are all circumstances. And circumstances themselves do not create nor do they destroy one’s ability to be happy.

However, recognizing the GOODs, no matter how small or seemingly inconsequential, builds a cozy nook in your mind where they can rest easy and become part of the beauty that has to emerge on days like THOSE when the only words you have to describe the experience sound like this:

If there were a song called “Verbal Diarrhea,” it would be perfect for this day.  The trouble is no songwriter wants to be the one associated with that delicious title…

That is a tasty excerpt from one of THOSE days, two weeks ago, when this song first re-entered my mind. I went on to purge all of my vicious grievances against the circumstances of my life as I saw them against the backdrop of that particular day. Then, I had a heart to heart with myself against the backdrop of this song.

I’ll spare you the old writing. But I’ll let you in on the song.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Come Clean”

How did I get here standing in a mess that I have made?
Little by little adding to the chaos every day
I know it’s time, it’s time to come clean
I know it’s time, it’s time to come clean

Boxes full of things I’ve shuffled and shifted place to place
All the years of me, everything I want to keep and throw away
I know it’s time, it’s time to come clean
I know it’s time, it’s time to come clean

I empty out the pieces
And I put them where they go

But where do they go?
Where do they go?
Does anything in me know?
Where do they go?

I’m finding what I’ve covered and holding it up to the morning light
I’m opening my life a little at a time and it’s all right
‘Cause it takes time, it takes time to come clean
Yeah, and I know it’s time, it’s time to come clean

I’m picking up the pieces
And I put them where they go

But where do they go?
Where do they go?
Does anything in me know?
Where do they go?
Where do they go?

I’m picking up the pieces

So where do they go?
Where do they go?
I wanna know just where do they go?
Where do they go

Because I need to know
Just where do they go? Where do they go?
I’ve got to know just where do they go?
Where do they go? Will I ever know?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

