“Laughing Stars” By Erin Marie

Dedicated to each precious life lost to terrorism. The stars sing sweetly for you.

Oh, Paris.

It is the City of Lights, of love, of warm pan au chocolat and some of the best vin rouge I’ve had the pleasure of sipping. A city in a circle, a city of beauty and rich history, a city in which many of my favorite stories take place.

Two years ago, the love of my life and I strolled down sweet Parisian streets and leisurely sipped wine and kissed each other until our lips hurt. It was blissful and beautiful, and everything about Paris and that experience has a fragrant memory for us. Exquisite! I often mentally go there when I’m having a rough time. From its quaint and enchanting cityscapes to its delicious cuisine, Paris does not disappoint.

And, although the same tragedies are happening elsewhere around the world in higher numbers and in more devastating violence, my heart is also broken that it has now, again, happened in Paris.

Senseless terrorist attacks.

Why does it happen anywhere? Why does it happen at all?

And why now, again, to my sweet Paris?

In conversations with my best sister friend, who happens to teach French, I found myself saying that this makes me feel a little differently about my own pain, the personal suffering at not having yet achieved the life I had envisioned for myself; these tragedies can make that pain seem very superficial and unnecessary. I should simply be glad I’m a teacher in a small town with a somewhat steady income and cozy little house.

And my very next thought was of every school shooting that has happened over the last 10 years on our own soil and how I work in a school where the possibility for that exists every day. And my heart broke all over again.

There isn’t a reason good enough for terrorism and the fear that is at its core to exist, much less happen repeatedly and all over the world. There isn’t a good enough reason for it to still be happening in the name of any faith.

Sadly, there isn’t a good enough solution, either.

We can’t be protected from every single sad person with a violent mission.

But we can’t live our lives afraid.

And so, in the spirit of Antoine Leiris,  I will continue to choose faith over fear, hope over sadness, and love over hate.

I will continue to sing my songs and live my life encouraging others to do the same.

For me, for my husband, for my son, for our world.

And for my God.

 

This song is an original, written over two years ago with my band and my best friend, inspired by France and love and The Little Prince. We were trying to resurrect a place in our hearts that was dying from sadness. It seems appropriate for today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Laughing Stars”

Music and Lyrics by Erin Marie

 

What sweet scent do I detect

At the corner of rejoice and regret

When all I really want is to forget?

Summer heat and lemonade

It wasn’t selfish when I stepped into your shade

Can’t we laugh at all the memories we made?

Sometimes it’s not what we hoped for.

Sometimes life ain’t fair.

 

The tears are a test worth risking when you meet a heart worth taming.

You learn to love a sunset when sadness sudden swells.

For the moon is just the shadowed sun; rejoice beneath its veil of light,

And someday the stars will laugh.

 

What soft breeze now gently calls

While the canopied leaves invite me to waltz?

Remind me it was never all our fault.

There are no tests, only love now,

And everything’s okay.

 

The tears are a test worth risking when you meet a heart worth taming.

You learn to love a sunset when sadness sudden swells.

For the moon is just the shadowed sun; rejoice beneath its veil of light,

And someday the stars will laugh.

 

We were princes in peplum and palaces,

Paupers in riverside streetcars, champagne in our chalices.

We were kids stealing glances, swinging from the tree branches.

Our memories are mysteries we dare not disobey.

What sweet scent do I detect

In your blossoming mercy, guard and protect,

But never forget

 

The tears are a test worth risking when you meet a heart worth taming.

You learn to love a sunset when sadness sudden swells.

For the moon is just the shadowed sun; rejoice beneath its veil of light,

And someday the stars will laugh.

 

Les etoiles rien doucement

Les etoiles ensemble chantent

Les etoiles rien doucement

Les etoiles ensemble chantent

 

Leave a Reply

