“Take Me Home” by Us the Duo

Today, I took half the day off to be with my baby boy at his four month doctor appointment.

I will never, ever regret taking time off for him.

And today, like every other day, like even the worst day here, was just wonderful. Truly. It was.

I always sang to Johnny when he was in utero, lots of different songs, all the time, all this music.

I wondered if he would recognize any of it after he was born. I know, it’s probably impossible.

But there is one song that I really think he remembers.

Once, when he was maybe 3 weeks old, he had been crying in his crib, so I came back to get him. A bunch of times, I came back, rocked him, and put him back down. Finally, I went in and wrapped him up in my arms and sat with him in the glider next to his crib. He was crying very hard at this point; when he does that, his face gets beet red and the sound- it’s all a new mama can do to just remain calm and not completely fall to hysterics when she hears her baby screaming like my Johnny boy was!

So, I began to sing this song that I always sang to him every morning on the way to work when I was pregnant with him, “Take Me Home” by Us the Duo.

And he immediately calmed down.

His tender, salty cries fizzled out and his breathing steadied and the full weight of him sank into my flesh because he knew. He was safe. He was home.

It happens every time.

And that, my friends, is why I think he remembers.

Lord, am I so grateful to be his mama! It’s the most precious, heart-busting, back-breaking, rewarding thing I have ever been. And, if home is a person, he’s it for me right now. Johnny and his daddy are my home. My tender, salty cries fizzle out and my breathing steadies and the full weight of me and what I carry around all day sink into their love because I know. I am safe. I am home.

And it is so very good to be here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today’s Voice

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWc2ju_i9kY

I’m only happy when I’m with you
Home for me is where you are.
I try to smile and push on through.
But home for me is where you are.

They tell me that I’ll make it.
It’ll only be a while.
But a while lasts forever
Without you…

Send out the alarms
I’m all alone
Wrap me in your arms
Take me home
Take me home
To your arms…

I won’t be happy ’till I’m with you
Home for me is where you are.
These four walls are nothing without you.
Home for me is where you are.

They tell me that I’ll make it.
It’ll only be a while.
But a while lasts forever
Without you…

Send out the alarms
I’m all alone
Wrap me in your arms
Take me home
Take me home
To your arms…

Send out the alarms
I’m all alone
Wrap me in your arms
And take me home
Take me home
Take me home

Leave a Reply

