“Read My Mind” by The Killers

I’m doing it. I’m FINALLY doing it.

I’m going to produce a blog of my own thoughts.

For me.

I’ve always been a creative person. I think by nature, we all are, but some of us have this aching need to create some sort of product that reflects this nature. Our ideas and feelings have to be expressed in some creative and dramatic product or else our souls shrivel up and wither away. Clearly, my creative media is writing. And singing. But you can’t hear me singing this blogpost, so for now, it’s writing.

Wait a minute…. A singing blog.

Ok. That’s an idea I’ll have to tackle later on. So, stay tuned.

Anyway, back to what I was saying before. I have been considering writing a blog (or a book or an album of songs or something, ANYTHING) for years. As many writers do, I hem and haw and dream and doubt over exactly what to write about. Who cares what I think? Who will even read this? Isn’t my journal sufficient? And what about my TV sitcom and Facebook addictions? Wait- there’s my full time teaching-Spanish-on-a-cart-job, and how about my roles as wife and mother? Who has time to blog?! Who?!?!? How??!? What!?!?!

Me. I do. You do. WE do. We have time to think fantastic thoughts, and we have time to write them down. Not every day. Not every thought. But my time is now. There are no plans, no topics decided upon, no target market audience to satisfy… yet. Just me and my thoughts and all this music, just for the sake of creating and producing something that satisfies my creative soul and helps me make more sense out of this world while I’m at it.

I don’t expect to be alone in this blog for long.

In fact, I know already that I’m not.

Because you are here reading it.

Thank you!

Now, go do something that satisfies your own creative soul and builds up others around you.

Ultimately, that’s what it’s all about! (left arm…)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

On the corner of main street
Just tryin’ to keep it in line
You say you wanna move on, and
You say I’m falling behind

Can you read my mind?
Can you read my mind?

I never really gave up on
Breakin’ out of this two-star town
I got the green light
I got a little fight
I’m gonna turn this thing around

Can you read my mind?
Can you read my mind?

The good old days, the honest man
The restless heart, the Promised Land
A subtle kiss that no one sees
A broken wrist and a big trapeze

Oh well, I don’t mind, you don’t mind
Cause I don’t shine if you don’t shine
Before you go, can you read my mind?

It’s funny how you just break down
Waiting on some sign
I pull up to the front of your driveway
With magic soaking my spine

Can you read my mind?
Can you read my mind?

The teenage queen, the loaded gun
The drop dead dream, the Chosen One
A southern drawl, the world unseen
A city wall and a trampoline

Oh well, I don’t mind, you don’t mind
‘Cause I don’t shine if you don’t shine
Before you jump
Tell me what you find
When you read my mind

Slipping in my faith until I fall
He never returned that call
Woman, open the door, don’t let it sting
I wanna breathe that fire again

She said, I don’t mind, you don’t mind
Cause I don’t shine if you don’t shine
Put your back on me
Put your back on me
Put your back on me

The stars are blazing like rebel diamonds cut out of the sun
When you read my mind

Leave a Reply

